Using the Editor for clients and collaborators – Webflow tutorial


The Editor is an interface we can use to access
and edit the contents of a published site. It’s what collaborators (like clients, customers)
— it’s where anyone can log in and get access. If you’re in a Webflow project, you can visit
the Editor from the Designer over to the left, or from the Project Settings over to the right. Or, you (and any collaborators) can visit
using the URL through your browser. Just add edit? Except, it’s now become obvious: the question
mark is at the beginning of edit. Let’s try that again: just add question mark
edit. Back in our project, from our Project Settings,
we can go right on over to Editor. From here, we can add and configure permissions
for our collaborators, and even control branding. We can add custom branding for our organization,
or a client’s organization. We can do that from Project Settings. Three brief things to note about the Editor:
#1: You can literally manipulate content on the page. Want to change some text inside a heading? You can go in and change some text inside
a heading. Want to replace this image used in the image
element here? You can go in and replace the image. This applies to content in your project (we’re
switching back over here to the Designer) in which, on any editable element, we’ve gone
over to our Element Settings panel and checked “Collaborators can edit this element.” What does it mean when that’s checked? It means collaborators can edit this element. If it’s unchecked, they’ll still see it in
the Editor but it won’t be editable. #2: Second thing to note. If you’ve created one or more collections,
collaborators can access them. They can go into any collection. And they can click to modify an existing collection
item — like a blog post — or, let’s cancel out of that, they can of course create a new
item — in this case a new blog post. On the top-right, if any collaborator wants
to come back to this post later — if they don’t want it to publish even if we publish
other changes — they can check “Draft.” That’s editing collections. #3: The final thing we want to mention here
— is that changes in the Editor? These aren’t updating in real-time. The content you’re changing won’t go live
until you or a collaborator publish the project — whether through The Editor here, or through
the Designer. Speaking of the Designer, if we’re visiting
the Editor from our Project? We can get back to it at any time by switching
right back over. That’s the Editor. Actually, this is the Designer. That’s the Editor.

5 Comments

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *